Why This Blog?

Hi everyone!  My name is Jason.  Please see my “About” page for some of my background story.  The purpose of this blog is to share my thoughts, as well as the thoughts of others, on topics related to Mormonism (i.e. The Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-day Saints), as well as Catholicism (i.e. The Catholic Church).  Specifically, as a revert from the LDS Church back to the Catholic Church, I’d like to share some of my thoughts and experiences so that others considering such a conversion/reversion will be empowered with quality information to make a fully informed decision.  I also envision this blog as providing further enlightenment as to the beliefs and practices of Latter-day Saints, as well as those of Catholics.

At the outset, I should say that although I do believe that the Catholic Church is the Lord’s Church, established by Jesus Christ Himself anciently, as we read in the New Testament, and that His Church and priesthood have continued uninterrupted to this day, and that many of the posts here will emphasize the reality of that point, as well as my belief that the LDS Church is not the Lord’s Church (and I’ll offer critiques of various uniquely LDS beliefs), it is my goal to maintain this blog as a charitable space where thoughts may be shared.  “Anti-Mormon” or “Anti-Catholic” comments will not be tolerated, nor will I make such statements (though I will certainly offer my critiques of the LDS faith).

So, welcome to my blog!  In the spirit of evangelical Catholicism, I hope that Latter-day Saints that find this blog will consider my thoughts and experiences, and one day come to know (as I have), not only through scriptural and historical reading, but through the witness of God through the Holy Spirit, that the Catholic Church is True, that Jesus Christ established it, that it is founded on the Apostles, that the priesthood of God has continued down through the ages offering the sacraments, the sacred mysteries of God to His children, through which we become sanctified by God’s grace, experiencing the cleansing and renewing power of Christ’s atonement, and that Christ maintains His Church through the ages, and that no human misdeeds could overthrow the Body of Christ or cause it to cease to exist, necessitating a restoration.

6 Responses to Why This Blog?

  1. Seraphim says:

    Jason,
    I am looking forward to reading your future posts. Having a similar blog myself (I am a cradle Mormon considering conversion to Catholicism or Eastern Orthodoxy) it might be fun to collaborate in the future. Here is a link to my blog and another interesting blog a friend writes that you might find interesting:

    http://comparativereligion32.blogspot.com
    http://saintsandsaints.wordpress.com/

    • Hey Seraphim,

      Thanks for that! Your friend’s blog is definitely interesting, thanks for the link. And I do look forward to reading more on your blog as well. Collaborations would definitely be great, we’ll definitely talk more about that as I get this blog on its feet.

  2. Syphax says:

    Can’t wait to read more of this. I’m on vacation at the moment but when I come back I’ll try to read more substantively.

  3. Agellius says:

    Hi. This is an interesting blog. I’ve never met a Mormon convert to Catholicism before. I am a Catholic revert, but before I reverted I actually took the Mormon missionary lessons and considered it quite seriously for a couple of years while living in the Salt Lake City area. (My story is here in case you’re interested: http://agellius.wordpress.com/2013/07/12/agelliuss-mormon-story-part-1/ )

    Looking forward to seeing what you have to say.

    • Thanks! I’ll definitely read your story when I have a chance.

      There are quite a few LDS converts to Catholicism in the online world, especially at Catholic Answers Forum and Mormon Dialogue and Discussion Board (though some just lurk at the latter).

Leave a Reply

